Happy Easter!

Sorry I’ve been away again. Life’s overtaken me once more, but I’ll explain about that later. What I want to talk about today is the end of a small ordeal I’ve undertaken in the name of charity fundraising. As you may or may not be aware, I’ve worn my hair down to my shoulders since I was sixteen years old (barring a brief short back and sides a few years ago). It’s part of my persona and having my hair short drives me absolutely crackers. So I made the rash decision to shave my head for Cancer Research UK. Not only that, I gave my hair up for Lent. Easter Sunday will be the last of nearly seven weeks of daily shaving.

So far, I’ve raised around £120 both through my justgiving page, and through random, ad hoc, donations by friends and family. Thank you, everybody who has given something so far – you’ve made seven weeks with a cold head worthwhile.

Having never shaved with a manual razor, I’ve been using my electric face razor for the job, and that’s come with downsides. For a start, I’ve got a grey shadow rather than a pink scalp. By 5 o’clock there’s a little bit of stubble that I could probably hang Fuzzy Felt off if I were so inclined. (In fact, putting a t-shirt on after work is surprisingly awkward…) Furthermore, my razor can’t really cope with the extra shavings in its blades. Normally, I’d have to clean the shaver heads once every two months. At the moment, they’re getting so clogged that I have to clean them weekly. Any time I’ve saved washing my hair is more than made up for with the extra shaving time, especially as head hair is thinner and denser than beard hair, so getting it all off is a long-winded process.

And, as I said, my head isn’t half cold now. I did try wearing a hat for a couple of days, but then I realised that my scalp would end up burning at the first sign of sunlight if I didn’t break it in slowly while the weather was still cloudy. So I’ve been drizzled on. And then at work I’ve been able to feel every draft and change in the air conditioning. I’m only just starting to get used to it.

I’ll have probably had my final shave by the time you’ve read this, but there’s still time to donate; the website will be up for about 7 months after, apparently. We’ve all been touched by cancer in one way or another, be it friends or family who have suffered with the illness; finding the cure for the Big C will save an awful lot of lives. For me, this Lent’s been worth the sacrifice and I hope you can find it in your heart to make it even more worthwhile.

And, as a bonus, here’s the video of me shaving my head:

~ by Scary Rob on 8 April, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
