I’m Back, Baby!

Well, hello there. My, it’s been a long time. So long that I’ve started quoting (or possibly misquoting; I can’t be arsed to look it up) country songs. As the title says, I am indeed back, and I’ll be blogging regularly for the foreseeable future. It may not have escaped your attention, o regular readers, that my disappearance from the blogosphere has been entirely due to time constraints. I took on too much this year and, to be blunt, I’ve suffered for it. I’ve had a nervous breakdown, been in therapy, had days off work sick, had an epic migraine (an experience I never wish to repeat), and spent months just wanting to throw it all over and live in a yurt. Some of the pressure has eased, now, and I’m back to doing something loosely resembling what I actually had planned for my life. This is progress.

So what happens now? Well, I probably owe you deeper explanations, and it’ll give me something to blog about besides, so the next few weeks will be taken up with catch-up posts telling you as much news from the past eight months as I can fit into five hundred words. I want to be a more active blogger because, ultimately, this is the only thing in my life at the moment that is trivial enough to be called a hobby. Everything else I do seems to be tied into my career aspirations one way or another.

I also have to admit a sense of guilt. I was a 20sixer. Back in 2004, before everyone and his dog was a blogger, 20six was a blogging community with users from all over the world. I never made the London meet-ups (A.K.A. Blinks) but I still felt like I was part of at least one group on there. Then the powers that be changed some of the platform without consulting the UK users and all the features that kept us together disappeared. We scattered to the four winds. I’m still in touch with one or two 20sixers, but I don’t read enough other blogs any more. The tragedy of this was driven home to me a few months ago when I was informed of the death of one of my closer comrades-in-keyboards after a battle with breast cancer. Judy/Quagga was an engaging writer and I loved her take on the world. She stopped blogging a few years ago for unknown reasons, so the email about her passing was a bit of a bolt from the blue. We’ll never rebuild what we had on 20six, but I do want to be a blogger again, not just a vanity writer using his blog as a platform. So I’m sorry if I’ve neglected you, but I’m back now, and I’ll be rebuilding my online world along with the rest of my personal world.

~ by Scary Rob on 28 November, 2011.

2 Responses to “I’m Back, Baby!”

  1. Great to have you back man. Didn’t know about Judy/Quagga, that’s a shame……..

    • Hi Boso! I passed by your blog a month or so back – it’s good to see you’re still around.

      Yeah, it’s sad news. I missed her when she stopped blogging and I miss her all the more now.

Leave a Reply

 
