A Head Over the Parapet

Oh dear Lord. I haven’t posted anything proper here since early March. That’s disconcerting; I hadn’t realised it had been that long. Suffice to say, Nevermore has been pretty low on my priority list these last few months. I’ll try to summarise what’s been happening.

First of all, it has come to my attention that I’ve bitten off far more than I can chew. To keep my head above water, I’ve had to extend my work availability up to four shifts a week, and each shift comes with a three-hour round trip, so even a short shift takes up a day. Add to that my full-time MA course and my musical work and suddenly I don’t have a lot of time for much else. And to make matters worse, the old black dog has come back to haunt me, slowing down my work rate. I should consider myself lucky. It’s only taken me two months to get medical treatment for my psychological problems. Birmingham’s NHS mental health provisions are currently oversubscribed, and the NHS frankly doesn’t take mental health very seriously as an institution. If I was registered to a lot of other GP surgeries in the area, I’d have been given a bottle of prozac and told to fuck off. At least I’ll get a real solution to my problems now, even if it has been a long wait.

As if all this wasn’t bad enough, circumstances have conspired to give me a situation where I had to move house at the end of May. I’ve discovered the hard way that the residential market has become a bit uncertain recently, with houses being signed up for within a week of advertising. There’s precious little time to make considered decisions about where you want to live, and often you have to take the best one you’ve seen on a given day. Even when you are quick, stupid things happen. We had just paid the deposit on a place when someone decided to buy the house off the landlord instead, dumping us straight back to square one with only a week left on our old contract. And the fact that we have our own furniture made the physical move something of an epic headache, too. A month on and we’re still not quite unpacked.

And then, amongst all this, my guitarist and drummer decided to each go their separate ways, leaving me and Ed with a new round of auditions to set up. Sure, we’ve learned a lot of lessons over the eight months we’ve had as a band, but I was somewhat rattled by the fact that I’ve not really been told the full story by either of our departing bandmates. Hence I’m not even going to try to explain what happened on here.

Anyway, this is what's been happening in the last couple of months of silence. Be rest assured I'm not dead yet, and I may even manage another update soon. Time permitting.

~ by Scary Rob on 3 July, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
