He’s Off Again…

It seems almost churlish not to talk about the Pope’s visit to the UK, what with His Holiness making a major stop off in my home city and all, but I’ve never felt right mouthing off without doing any research. Okay, the papers have been full of things about it. The local rags have had the usual commemorative editions and the nationals have covered the politics, official speeches and protests, but it’s all just washed over me, to be honest. Usually, I’m happy to berate journalists over their coverage of any major event, because they spout oh-such-high-minded left wing ideals for a collection of people who live in nice flats in London. However, I can’t actually be bothered to read the latest round of hypocrisy – I’ve got better things to do.

And that, of course, is the crux of the matter: I don’t care. While the Pope was busy blessing the masses and kissing babies, I was with my mum and sister making an abortive attempt to watch a restored edition of Metropolis. The showing was sold out, what with this latest edition being possibly the most exciting piece of celluloid going at the moment. So instead we went to see The Other Guys, which is well worth a viewing.

The cinema trip was, in itself, unremarkable but it serves to illustrate my point here. I’d rather see a near-complete Metropolis than the Pope. Just as I’d rather skip to Nemi than read people’s opinions about the Papal visit in the Metro. Just as I’d rather read about, well, anything else if I’m honest, on the BBC. This isn’t anti-religious sentiment; I don’t want to read the endless self-congratulatory atheist perspective or even the debates about religion versus science that this weekend’s events have put in the papers. I said at the start of this article that I won’t talk about the Pope because I haven’t done the research. A lot of people are talking about the Pope and I don’t believe they have either.

I’d be a liar if I said I wasn’t opinionated. I agree in principle that certain stances alleged to be held by the Catholic Church at His Holiness’ dictum ought to be protested, and fair play to the people that have gone out and done that. The Pope visiting in the first place is a big deal in terms of international ties and our country’s prestige, so the visit does deserve some front page coverage. What grieves me is that the “religion versus science” debate has been trotted out yet again to fill column inches by people who are unqualified to make a rational case. It annoys me all the more because I am personally of the opinion that science and religion are not mutually exclusive. So I don’t want to know. I’m not Catholic enough to be excited by it all, and my blood boils too much to read the sensationalist analyses. I’m watching bloody Metropolis.

~ by Scary Rob on 21 September, 2010.

2 Responses to “He’s Off Again…”

  1. Of all the things that the Pope was doing here ‘kissing babies’ was definately not one of them…

    • Haha! Facetious jokes about Catholic priests aside, I overheard a woman on the train who had been to see the Pope with her kids saying that he’d kissed a baby, so I feel I have this on good authority.

Leave a Reply

 
