Now it’s over…

Okay, normal service resumes now. I don’t normally get political on here, unless something specific’s getting my goat, so I wouldn’t be at all surprised if you guys are fed to the back teeth with me plastering my two-penn’orth across the internet. It’s been over a month now since I’ve said anything about my life, in fact. And isn’t that the purpose of a blog?

(Well, actually, the purpose of a blog is to feed the author’s ego, mostly, but we’ll brush that under the carpet…)

April has been a busy month, as well as a frustrating one. I’m having a bit of a song-writing binge at the moment, simply because I’m trying to carry on as if nothing’s wrong while Si Barone is still lacking a guitarist. I’m figuring that us actually having an original set ready to play will make us more attractive to other musicians. Perhaps I’m clutching at straws.

In the meantime, I’ve lost my job. I was on a temporary contract to a council department that’s being sold off to a private contractor and was given the boot with a fortnight’s notice at the end of last month. It wasn’t anything personal, it’s just that they decided to clear out all the agency workers. I decided to take the opportunity to do some work on the garden, but things just haven’t worked out that way. It has a lot to do with the fact that I get nocturnal when I don’t have to be anywhere for nine o’clock in the morning. And then, the day I managed to get my sorry backside into the great outdoors, my lawnmower exploded. I have no luck sometimes.

Quite frankly, I’m scrabbling to get a grip on myself again. My job was the main point of stability around which I organised the rest of my life. I used to stay an extra hour of a night to write 500 words of my novel. I’ve now had a break from it that’s lasted three weeks. This wasn’t a planned break, it’s just my discipline’s gone to the wall. I should be doing fifteen minutes of piano practice every night. Instead, I keep not getting round to it until it’s too late at night to be making plinky noises in a terraced house you share with nine-to-fiver. Even my personal house-cleaning rota has gone to the wall lately.

So I need some motivation. I need to take a hold of myself, shake myself out of bed of a morning, and start doing the things I need to do. But then, there’s always that little voice at the back of my head of a night saying, “You can carry on watching music videos on YouTube; it’s not like you’ll get fired for not being up in the morning…”

Bastard.

~ by Scary Rob on 19 May, 2010.

One Response to “Now it’s over…”

  1. Hmp, sorry to hear about your job 😦

Leave a Reply

 
