Guitarists

I despair of musicians. Back in July, I began trying to get together a rock band and now, seven months on, I’m still not sure I have a stable line-up. It began, as these things do, with a bit of a tipsy rant about the state of the music industry. I had ideas, big ideas. I was going to form the world’s greatest rock ‘n’ roll group and a bassist and two guitarists who happened to be in my way at the time said they were with me. We were unstoppable. None of us had played in two years. So we made a pact to spend the summer cleaning the rust off.

Fast-forward to September. My opening call to arms was made in a student union bar, so we all met up again when the university term started. And it was then to my dismay that I discovered that neither of the guitarists had practised any over the last two months and had both dropped out. It was me and my bassist.

I don’t do giving up. Tenacity is a big part of my nature and it takes years of setbacks before I stop pursuing my goals. So Ed the bassist and I took to my living room on Saturday afternoons and found eight songs with distinctive bass-lines to play while we advertised for guitarists. We kicked around some ideas and got some idea of what we wanted to achieve, then we summed it up in a hundred words and put it on small-ads websites so those elusive guitarists would see it.

“Hey, man! I’m interested!”

Fantastic, dude. Come around and play with us at one o’clock on Saturday.

Of course, one o’clock rolls around and there’s no sign of a guitarist. We spend another three hours drinking tea and playing “Another One Bites the Dust”. This game goes on for weeks. Being fair, we did get one or two guitarists through my front door. One of them told us he was looking for a particular kind of band and would be seeing someone else later that afternoon. He said he enjoyed playing with us and that he liked my voice, but I can only assume from the fact that we haven’t heard from him since that the other band was closer to what he was looking for.

And then there was the guy who didn’t turn up to audition because his guitar was broken, then emailed me a couple of months later to say he was still interested. We have a new set list now, and our original advert did make it clear we were into seventies rock. This guy, however, backed out as soon as he saw the new set list. I could cry sometimes.

Mind you, I have my fingers crossed. I’ve put out a new round of adverts and somebody phoned me on Friday with some enthusiasm. We rehearse on Monday nights now, so we may well have a guitarist by the end of the day…

~ by Scary Rob on 1 February, 2010.

2 Responses to “Guitarists”

  1. Damn 😦 Don’t give up. Sugar took 10 months to form the first stable line-up.

    • I haven’t given up yet. In fact, Si Barone (for that is what we’re called) got a guitarist on Monday night. Not the guy I mentioned in the article, but someone we know through the uni. World domination starts here.

Leave a Reply

 
