Prospects

Once again, it appears I’ve vanished off the face of the Internet for two weeks. Once again, I’ve been busy. I’ve had Gwyn over to stay, followed by a week of getting bits and bobs sorted out before finally being given my first set of full-time hours at work in over a year. For some reason (well, I know the reason actually – bloody students!) I got struck with a stinker of a cold around the same time. Given how shitty I’ve been feeling these past few days, it wouldn’t surprise me to find that this was outright ‘flu. The result is that I’ve crawled my way through my week at work without actually achieving a fat lot else. By Thursday, in fact, I was feeling half dead. Still, I’ve earned lots of money in the process, so I’m hardly complaining.

Actually, I am. My job is as crummy as ever and I’ve recently been moved from a department where I was able to safely ignore all the site’s problems to one where I’m right in the thick of things. And I don’t like it. I’m just a shop-floor monkey, so I’m in no position to make great changes; this leaves me feeling constantly frustrated with my work. I want out. This means I really have to kick myself into the long, disheartening process that is job-hunting – something that I haven’t had to do in over three years now (quite an achievement for a student worker). I’ve been spurred on by spending a couple of days at one of my former sites and discovering that the grass really is greener on the other side of the fence.

Mind you, the things I’ve been discovering in my recent pokes at job ads and websites have not exactly filled me with confidence. I am a historian. As a humanities graduand, I have very limited prospects in my own field. In fact, I have the choice between teaching History to a bunch of teenagers who don’t give a damn or going into academia and engaging in the thankless task of researching my chosen period for a living. I have no desire to do the former and the latter would involve my stumping up ten grand to do an MA, probably in another town. I really don’t want to leave Birmingham right now – I’m sick of constantly moving home.

So I find myself looking at graduate jobs. The ones that don’t ask for particular degrees are just the high-action sales and recruitment firms. I really don’t see myself as one of these driven, besuited “professionals”. In fact, that culture makes me sick. Instead, I seem to have the choice between carrying on in customer service and doing basic office desk-work. Customer service drains me and the pay is rubbish. The daft thing is: as an office admin, I’d actually have been better off chucking my education in after my A-Levels. I’d be some kind of manager by now…

~ by Scary Rob on 8 October, 2007.

4 Responses to “Prospects”

  1. Hey, have you thought about a career in investment banking? They pay well, and as far as I know, don’t really care what degree you have…..

  2. You can always do MA History at Brum – I can vouch for the quality of the course, resources, supervisors, and peers. 😉

    Masters opens up other careers besides teaching and academia that are not always immediately available to first degree graduates, and there are often opportunities to get work experience in publishing through the Masters programme, which may be of some interest to you.

    There are a number of careers that value the analytical skills acquired by Humanities students. For example, have you conidered a career in business analysis, or is that too commercial for your tastes?

  3. wordcwide – I did consider this option early on. Sadly, I don’t know where to get the money to do it. If £10k ever falls in my lap, I’ll do it.

  4. Such is the curse of post-grad study, unfortunately. Hope you find something that lights your fire soon.

Leave a Reply

 
