Just an update

Panic! Bedlam! Badgers! This has been a mad rush of a week for me, mostly filled with making leaflets and booklets for Freshers’ Week at the University. I’ve been putting together a welcome booklet covering three societies as part of the build-up to this year’s Fresher’s Fair, which has left me with an enormous amount of to-ing and fro-ing between the three committees trying to make sure all parties are satisfied.

Meanwhile, my job has come close to breaking me. Despite being allegedly a part of the same company as I have been working for for the last two and a half years, the site I currently work at is a hell-hole that’s driving me into a pit of despair. Very few of us do any work and the others try to drag down the few of us that do. The place is poorly designed and the management encourage corners to be cut. To cap it all off, yesterday the new boss and the regional manager saw me crunch an ice-cube over the CCTV system and thought I’d been eating stock. Given that there’s not really another way to keep cool on that over-heated concessions stand upstairs…

As if all that weren’t enough, I have a few personal issues bothering me, none of which I can afford to discuss in deeper detail here. Let’s just leave it at the fact that my libido and my emotions conspire against me from time to time. It would be nice if, for once, I could take to someone that I actually had a good chance with.

I also have money troubles. Nothing dire, but I may find myself in a position where I have to choose between going to see the Fratellis at the Guild in October or eating this week. For some reason, eating doesn’t seem to be winning at the moment.

Soon I should be able to leave this positively adolescent angst behind, though, as I am on holiday from work for a couple of weeks to get myself settled in for the new term at college. This week I have two days of leaflet hustling, two nights of house partying and still some time to goof off for a bit as well. And when term starts properly next week, I’ll be able to put my shitty job out of my mind as it’ll be just some place I go for a couple of hours a week, not the most attention-consuming part of my life. And my student loan will magically appear, meaning I won’t have the issues I’ve been having over budgeting this past fortnight (I knew I should have put off buying those Status Quo tickets…).

Yeah, I know this was one of those rambling ‘what I’m up to’ posts but not every week of my life is action-packed or full of political ire.

~ by Scary Rob on 25 September, 2006.

Leave a Reply

 
